top of page
  • Writer's pictureZach

Net Worth Update: October 25, 2020- Still Climbing?


The world is on fire and I keep making money. After many months of anticipation, I'm actually in China!!!! In 4 days I will be out of my 2 week quarantine if I get the final "you-don't-have-COVID" test result (bring it, you nasal swabbing bastards!). Then, life in plague free Shenzen awaits, and I couldn't be more excited. I'll do a full life update later, but I already have an apartment arranged and friends on the ground, as well as an amazing girlfriend who I haven't seen in far too long.


The pandemic keeps grinding on, and it's kind of just become the new Normal. Trump got it and survived. The people I know who have had it also have all survived with very minimal to no lasting effects. I'm continuing to try to stay healthy by having a clean diet and exercising, even in my quarantine hotel room. You should go take some Vitamin D supplements.


In terms of money for this quarter, my Net Worth continued to rise. It's up to $232,000, with a positive change of nearly $17,000 in 3 months. My cash reserves are doing well, at around $35,000. This year I've invested $38,000 so far, and I'll put in more at the beginning of November. I'm feeling more confident now that I'm actually in China and my job seems to be a real thing that has actually paid me several times now. I've decided to keep about $20,000 in cash on hand instead of my previous $9,000 that I used to do.


I can't think of any special lessons from this quarter. Minimize your bad habits, don't spend money if you don't need to, things won't make you happy. A global pandemic is great for saving if you still have a job, as there's less to spend on.


In an un-frugal turn, I'm really looking forward to outfitting my new life in China and actually, you know, DOING THINGS! I want to make my apartment a calm oasis of Zen, I want to hang out with people and explore the city, I want to get a little electric kick scooter to zip around a new home. I'm very excited to live a normal life again.


That's about all for this update, sorry if nothing groundbreaking was said. I'm just happy to be out of Dubai so I can start my new life. Nothing against Dubai, it was great and I will always love it, but I need something new. Fortunately, I'm going into China in the best shape of my financial life, and I should be able to keep extending that if things don't completely blow up (which they totally could). Take care, fair readers.


If you liked this post, come join the discussion over at The Happiest Teacher Facebook Group! I would love to have your voice added to the discussion! Also, if you're into that Twitter life, come follow me!

196 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page